No Yew, no us

As we commemorate the First Year Anniversary of the passing of Mr Lee Kuan Yew, this is a draft that has been untouched for a year…

I am still feeling so tired from helping out yesterday but thought I shall gather all my strength to pen this down.

A few days ago, when the official Press Statement from Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong was broadcasted through the Prime Minister’s Office, everyone in the crowd went quiet. Some looked down. Eyes teared. The elderly started wailing. We averted each other’s eyes. I looked hard at my smartphone.

The Post-LKY Era – living in his legacy, living it out. 

It is really so touching to see the nation coming together to send off our dear Founding Father – Mr Lee Kuan Yew – for the very last time. Coming together not just physically but being in solidarity to mourn over the great loss be it on social media such as changing our profile pictures on Facebook, uploading commemorative pictures on Instagram or even wearing just black, grey and white colours in real life.

Watch this: Water distribution efforts during lying-in-state

Amongst the hundreds of thousands that lined up to see Mr Lee in Parliament house, and the millions who paid homage to him at the tribute centres here and abroad, I saw the emergence of the Singaporean spirit. Singaporeans from all walks of life put down their activities and gathered together for a common good – to serve. Some emptied their pockets to buy stockpiles of replenishments or free flowers. Some brought down their children to be part of the volunteering effort. Some volunteered to support the volunteers by providing free transport and rallying their friends and family.

DSC_0902

Water distribution efforts 

As I guarded my water distribution post near Cavenagh Bridge, I came into contact with a police officer. He had been there since the wee hours of the morning and was clearly exhausted and tired from direct traffic, giving advise to those in the queue and looking out for any threats. However, he soldiered on “for Mr Lee”.

Read this: Rallying the nation

Other policeman that I talked to, told me that they had been activated for all of the past few days and were surviving on barely a wink of sleep. Yet, they were so friendly to the public – empathising with the older folks by genuinely attempting to cheer them up as they wheeled the elderly into the priority queue and maintaining law and order.

A new chapter

This is the first and hopefully not the last time that I see the icy image of Singaporeans being melted, finally. No more paiseh, no more “hiding in my cocoon” but rather making conversations with one another and becoming friends overnight. Conversations on how to stay awake as they queued lest they be left behind. Conversations on how they can avoid experiencing dizziness by “wiggling your toes and pressing certain points for oxygen flow”.

I will never forget witnessing:
Men, women and children who did not waver in rows under the torrential downpour to bid the final farewell
The spontaneous outpouring of grief and gratitude
Arising to the challenge to serve

12814209_10156711477515607_136123152854873047_n
Salute!! 

This is home truly, where I know I must be
Where my dreams wait for me, where the river always flows
This is home surely, as my senses tell me
This is where I won’t be alone, for this is where I know it’s home

Leave a comment